sample

Marat Turymbetov

civil society activist, blogger


Mr. Turymbetov is a principled supporter of peaceful means of work in the field of human rights, an organizer of campaigns for human rights and strict compliance by the state authorities with the legislation and Constitution of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Brief information



Place of residence: Almaty

Article: section 4 of article 274 of the Criminal Code of the Republic of Kazakhstan

Date of birth: 3 March 1969

Detailed information



General provision

Marat Turymbetov, born on 3 March 1969, civic activist, human rights defender, blogger, a resident of Almaty
Nationality: Kazakh
Citizenship: Republic of Kazakhstan
Education: incomplete higher education
Category I disabled person. Chronic kidney disease, end-stage 5 chronic glomerulonephritis (chronic haemodialysis using an artificial kidney), hypertension.

Mr. Turymbetov is a principled supporter of peaceful means of work in the field of human rights, an organizer of campaigns for human rights and strict compliance by the state authorities with the legislation and Constitution of the Republic of Kazakhstan. An unwavering supporter of the democratization of society and respect for citizens’ rights and freedom of speech. One of the organizers of peaceful actions and rallies in support of political prisoners and persons subjected to political persecution in Kazakhstan. An active participant in various international, regional human rights conferences and round tables. One of the initiators of the establishment of the Kazakhstan Coalition for Civil Initiatives. A promoter of the ideas of democracy and human rights on Facebook. Maker of videos about the need for political change.

On 20 July 2020, Mr. Turymbetov was brought to the police and questioned as a witness with a right to defence in a case of “dissemination of deliberately false information in a state of emergency” (section 4 of article 274 of the Criminal Code). The reason for the questioning was Mr. Turymbetov’s publishing of critical posts on Facebook regarding dubious practices that Zhylstroysberbank of Kazakhstan JSC adopted in their procurement of goods, works and services. The ground for a criminal case is very dubious. It is unknown who authored the multiple posts and publications, while Mr. Turymbetov simply published reposts and links to sources of information.

According to Mr. Turymbetov, during the investigation of this criminal case the Almaty city police department made numerous procedural violations. During the questioning, Mr. Turymbetov, a category I disabled person, was kept for six hours with no access to drugs that he must be taking as a life-supporting measure at strictly defined time intervals. The criminal case based on the bank’s lawsuit was initiated on 20 April 2020, and on 5 May 2020, which is a short period of time, the Almaty city police department already had in their possession an opinion of a psychologist and a philologist that the information posted did contain the elements that might give occasion to discreditation of the complainant (the bank) and damage its business reputation. In violation of all procedural standards, Mr. Turymbetov was familiarized with the results of the expert examination only on 20 July 2020. During a search of his apartment, various pieces of electronics and smartphones of all family members, as well as of Mr. Turymbetov’s children, were illegally seized.

Mr. Turymbetov is one of the organizers of a political party called “OUR RIGHT.” The authorities of Almaty had done everything to stop the party from being created, including sabotaging the party foundation congress with the help of the Almaty city police department. Due to the fact that during that period Mr. B. Baibek, Almaty city mayor, at the same time the head of the Almaty city branch of Nur Otan (a pro-President party – translator’s note), Mr. Turymbetov and several other activists, viewing that fact as a blatant display of unethical political competition aimed at squashing any motivated and tightly-organized political opponents to Nur Otan, in May 2019 filed a lawsuit complaining that Nur Otan had set up barriers preventing their party from being established. As a result, Mr. Turymbetov has been persecuted by law enforcement on multiple occasions.

Before a court judgement could be issued in the aforementioned lawsuit, Nur Otan themselves toward the end of September 2019 filed a lawsuit against the civic activists claiming that they (the activists) had engaged in the dissemination of false information in the mass media claiming that Nur Otan had set barriers against the establishment, by Ms. S. Zakirova, Mr. A.Ilyashev, and M.Turymbetov, of the OUR RIGHT party. The proceedings on the claim resulted in that the court adjudicated: “To obligate the defendants to publish a rebuttal of their information by way of posts on their personal Facebook pages.” As followed from the judgment, Mr. Ilyashev, Ms. Zakirova and Mr. Turymbetov had within ten calendar days of the judgment coming into legal force to publish on their personal Facebook pages the following text: “The information that I disseminated, of Nur Otan allegedly preventing the OUR RIGHT political party from being established, is not true.”

The activists were obligated, as a matter of joint liability, to pay to each of the four claimants on behalf of Nur Otan, an amount of one and a half million tenge as moral damages. The activists were also obligated each to pay an amount of five thousand tenge as court fees. The Almaty city court dismissed an appeal the civic activists filed to challenge the first-instance court’s judgement whereby they were obligated to pay a total of six million tenge (or approximately 16,000 US dollars) to four Nur Otan party members.

In 2017, Mr. Turymbetov was accused of stealing his own car, and was found guilty under section 3 of article 24 and subsection 2 of section 4 of article 190 of the Criminal Code (Fraud) with a suspended sentence of two years and six months. When issuing its verdict, the court accounted for Mr. Turymbetov’s disability and replaced the actual imprisonment with a restriction of freedom. In March 2019, after a review of Mr. Turymbetov’s violation of his probation, the Turksib district court for the city of Almaty ruled to replace the previous sentence with a one year and four months imprisonment.

Today, there is a court order that has come into legal force in respect of Mr. Turymbetov of his release from prison on account of his grave ailment, and he has been under probation supervision by the Ministry of Internal Affairs for a term of three years.

Kazakhstan International Bureau for Human Rights and the Rule of Law
27 July 2020

sample

Турымбетов Марат

Гражданский активист, правозащитник, блогер


Турымбетов 20 июля 2020 года был доставлен в полицию и допрошен в качестве свидетеля с правом на защиту по делу о «распространении заведомо ложной информации» в условиях «чрезвычайного положения», предусмотренной статьёй 274 часть 4 Уголовного Кодекса РК.

Краткая информация



Место проживания: Алматы

Статья осуждения: часть 4 статьи 474 УК РК

Дата рождения: 03.03.1969

Образование: незаконченное высшее

Подробная информация



Общее положение

Турымбетов Марат, 03.03.1969 г.р., гражданский активист, правозащитник, блогер, житель г. Алматы
Национальность: казах
Гражданство: Республика Казахстан
Образование: незаконченное высшее
Инвалид 1 группы. Хроническая болезнь почек - 5 терминальная стадия в исходе хронического гломерулонефрита (хронический гемодиализ аппаратом искусственная почка), гипертензия.

Турымбетов - принципиальный сторонник мирной правозащитной деятельности, организатор кампаний за права человека и строгое соблюдение властями законодательства и Конституции Республики Казахстан. Последовательный сторонник демократизации общества и соблюдения прав граждан, свободы слова. Один из организаторов мирных акций и митингов в поддержку политических заключенных и лиц, подвергающихся политическим преследованиям в Республике Казахстан. Активный участник различных международных, региональных правозащитных конференций и круглых столов. Является одним из инициаторов создания Коалиции гражданских инициатив Казахстана. Продвигает идеи демократии и прав человека в социальной сети «Facebook». Делает видеообращения о необходимости политических перемен.

Турымбетов 20 июля 2020 года был доставлен в полицию и допрошен в качестве свидетеля с правом на защиту по делу о «распространении заведомо ложной информации» в условиях «чрезвычайного положения», предусмотренной статьёй 274 часть 4 Уголовного Кодекса РК. Основанием для допроса Турымбетова явилась публикация критических постов в социальной сети Facebook о сомнительной обоснованности больших расходов АО «Жилстройсбербанк Казахстана» на закуп товаров, работ и услуг. Основания для возбуждения уголовного дела весьма сомнительны. Автор многих постов и публикаций неизвестен, а Турымбетов делал репосты и ссылки на источники информации.

По информации Турмыбетова Департаментом полиции г.Алматы при расследовании уголовного дела были допущены многочисленные процессуальные нарушения. При осуществлении допроса его – инвалида I группы продержали около 6 часов без медикаментов, которые необходимо ему принимать по жизненным показаниям в определенное время. Уголовное дело по заявлению Банка возбуждено 20 апреля 2020 года и уже 5 мая 2020 года Департаментом полиции г.Алматы получено психолого-филологическое заключение о содержании в постах активистов информации, которая может послужить поводом для дискредитации Заявителя и затрагивать его деловую репутацию. С результатами психолого-филологической экспертизы, в нарушение всех процессуальных норм, Турымбетов был ознакомлен только 20 июля 2020 года. При осуществлении обыска жилища необоснованно были изъяты разного рода оргтехника и смартфоны всех членов семей, а также детей Турымбетова.

Турымбетов является одним из инициаторов создания политической партии «НАШЕ ПРАВО». Власти города Алматы всячески препятствовали созданию партии, срывали проведение учредительного съезда партии с использованием органов полиции города Алматы. Ввиду того, что в указанный период Аким г.Алматы Б.Байбек одновременно являлся руководителем Алматинского городского филиала партии «Nur Otan», Турымбетов и ряд активистов, расценивая данный факт, как очевидное проявление недобросовестной политической конкуренции, осуществляемой в целях недопущения появления мотивированных и сплоченных политических оппонентов партии «Nur Otan», в мае 2019г. подали исковое заявление в суд о создании препятствий в создании их партии на партию «Nur Otan». Вследствие чего Турымбетов неоднократно преследовался правоохранительными органами.

До вынесения судебного решения по данному иску в конце сентября 2019 г., правящая партия «Нур Отан», в свою очередь, подала иск против гражданских активистов о распространении в средствах массовой информации ложных сведений о воспрепятствовании со стороны партии «Нур Отан» созданию С.Закировой, А.Ильяшевым и М.Турымбетовым партии «НАШЕ ПРАВО». По итогам рассмотрения иска партии суд вынес решение: «Обязать ответчиков опровергнуть распространенные ими сведения путем размещения на их личных страницах в социальной сети «Facebook». Из судебного решения следовало, что Ильяшев, Закирова и Турымбетов в течение десяти календарных дней после вступления решения суда в законную силу должны опубликовать текст поста следующего содержания: «Распространенные мной сведения о том, что партия «Нур Отан» препятствовала созданию партии «Наше право» не соответствуют действительности».

Активистов обязали в солидарном порядке выплатить каждому из четырех истцов со стороны партии «Нур Отан» по 1 млн 500 тысяч тенге морального вреда. Также, активистов обязали выплатить по 5 тысяч тенге каждый за судебные расходы. Алматинский городской суд оставил без удовлетворения апелляционную жалобу гражданских активистов, оспоривших решение, по которому их обязали выплатить в общей сложности шесть миллионов тенге (около 16 тысяч долларов) четырем членам партии «Нур Отан».

В 2017 году Турымбетов был обвинен в угоне собственного автомобиля и признан виновным по ст.ст. 24 ч.3, 190 ч.4 п.2 Уголовного кодекса Республики Казахстан «Мошенничество» с назначением наказания в виде двух лет и шести месяцев условного осуждения. При вынесении приговора суд учел наличие у Турымбетова инвалидности и заменил ему реальный срок на ограничение свободы. В марте 2019 г. Турксибский районный суд Алматы рассмотрев представление о нарушении Турымбетовым условий пробационного контроля, вынес решение об изменении раннего наказания на лишение свободы сроком на один год и четыре месяца.

В настоящее время, в отношении Турымбетова имеется вступившее в законную силу решение суда об освобождении его от отбывания наказания в виде лишения свободы, в связи с его тяжелой болезнью и на данный момент он находится под надзором службы пробации МВД РК сроком на три года.

Казахстанское международное бюро по правам человека и соблюдению законности
27 июля 2020 г.