sample

Yelena Semyonova

human rights defender


Following those two publications, lawsuits were filed against Ms. Semyonova, seeking protection of the honour, dignity and business reputation (article 143 of the Civil Code of the Republic of Kazakhstan) of Ms. G.A. Myrzaly, a deputy head at UK-161/2 and ES-164/4, who is responsible for medical and preventative work with inmates.

Short information



Place of residence: Almaty

Article of conviction: article 143 of the Civil Code of the Republic of Kazakhstan

Date of Birth: 27 October 1968

Conviction date: 21/01/2020

Education: higher

Detailed information



General position

Yelena Alexandrovna Semyonova, born on 27 October 1968, human rights defender, civil society activist, citizen of the Republic of Kazakhstan, ethnic Russian, has a higher education, head of We Are Against Torture non-government organization, former chair of the Commission of Public Oversight of Penitentiaries in Pavlodar Oblast, resides in the city of Pavlodar, Pavlodar Oblast.

While exercising her right to freedom of speech and expression and having the knowledge of the human rights situation in penitentiaries, expressing her critical opinion of the conditions in which the prisoners are kept, in particular with regard to the quality of medical assistance they receive, on 21 January 2020 Ms. Y.A. Semenova published an article on her Facebook page entitled “Who benefits from this and how easy it is to get rid of those who are inconvenient!” in which she criticized the poor quality of food at UK-161/2 facility that, according to her, had resulted in a number of food poisonings. She stated that the inmates were not afforded a full extent of medical assistance when they turned to the facility’s medical unit for help.

On 14 April 2020 she posted a publication on Facebook entitled “To some, war is hell, and to others, it is a kind mother,” in which she voiced her personal opinion of the unlawful acts by the staff at ES-164/4 facility committed against inmate M.V. Sanin (based on his own verbal account).

Following those two publications, lawsuits were filed against Ms. Semyonova, seeking protection of the honour, dignity and business reputation (article 143 of the Civil Code of the Republic of Kazakhstan) of Ms. G.A. Myrzaly, a deputy head at UK-161/2 and ES-164/4, who is responsible for medical and preventative work with inmates.

In both lawsuits, the demands were made that Ms. Semyonova should refute the information she had included in her articles, apologize, and publish a refutation.

On 10 June 2020, an initial court hearing of Ms. G.A. Myrzaly’s complaint was held at the Pavlodar city court (judge Ms. S.G. Khusmatullina). A review of the article was presented by Ms. G.V. Mustakimova, an expert for the complainant, that maintained the texts in question did contain words and expressions that may be considered as denigrating the honour, dignity and business reputation of a medical professional, deputy head of UK-162/2 facility.

To that, an attorney for Ms. Semyonova presented an opinion by Ms. R.D. Karymsakova, an expert with the Public Centre for Expertise in Information and Document Disputes under Adil Soz Public Foundation for the Protection of Freedom of Speech, which stated that “based on the information material presented for an expert review (a fragment of a screenshot), it seems impossible to state with an acceptable degree of certainty that the person depicted there is a particular individual, in this case, Ms. Gulmizra Abdikhalykkyzy Myrzaly.”

The next hearing is scheduled for 17 June 2020, with expert R.D. Karymsakova, in attendance.

On 11 June 2020, an initial court hearing of the lawsuit filed by ES-164/4 facility was held at the Pavlodar city court (judge Ms. G.Kh. Yusupova).

During the hearing, inmate M.V. Sanin was questioned who did not deny the fact of unlawful acts committed against him by the staff of ES-164/4 facility, and gave a detailed account of the chain of events that took place on 10 April 2020.

Ms. Semyonova’s attorney presented to the court an opinion of her article by an expert with the Public Centre for Expertise in Information and Document Disputes under Adil Soz Public Foundation for the Protection of Freedom of Speech.

The next court hearing is scheduled for 18 June 2020.

Legal assistance to Ms. Semyonova has been provided by Mr. M.U. Musinov, an advocate with the Pavlodar Oblast Collegium, with the support from the Kazakhstan International Bureau for Human Rights and the Rule of Law.

Kazakhstan International Bureau for Human Rights and the Rule of Law
11 June 2020

sample

Елена Семенова

Правозащитник


По нескольким публикациям на Семёнову были поданы иски о защите чести, достоинства и деловой репутации (статья 143 Гражданского кодекса Республики Казахстан) Мырзалы Г.А., заместителем начальника по лечебно-профилактической работе учреждения УК-161/2 и учреждением ЕС-164/4.

Краткая информация



Место проживания: Павлодар

Статья осуждения: статья 143 Гражданского кодекса РR

Дата рождения: 27.10.1968

Начало суда: 11.06.2020

Образование: Высшее

Подробная информация



Общее положение

Семёнова Елена Александровна, 27.10.1968 г.р., правозащитник, гражданский активист, гражданка Республики Казахстан, русская, имеет высшее образование, является руководителем ОО «Мы против пыток», бывший председатель Общественной наблюдательной комиссии по общественному контролю за местами лишения свободы в Павлодарской области, проживает в Павлодарской области, г.Павлодар.

Семёнова Е.А., реализуя своё право на свободу слова и выражения мнения, зная ситуацию с правами человека в местах лишения свободы, выражая свое критическое мнение об условиях содержания заключённых, в частности, в отношении оказания медицинской помощи 21 января 2020 г. в социальной сети Facebook опубликовала статью «Кому это выгодно или как легко избавиться от неугодного!», в которой критиковала низкое качество питания в учреждении уголовно-исполнительной системы УК-161/2, в результате чего, по её версии, несколько осужденных получили пищевое отравление. По её словам при обращении в медико-санитарную часть этого учреждения заключённые не получили полный объём медицинской помощи.

14 апреля 2020г. в социальной сети Facebook Семёнова разместила публикацию «Кому война, а кому мать родна», где выразила свое личное мнение о противоправных действиях сотрудников учреждения уголовно-исполнительной системы ЕС-164/4 в отношении осужденного Санина М.В., отбывающего наказание в данном учреждении (с его слов).

По этим двум публикациям на Семёнову были поданы иски о защите чести, достоинства и деловой репутации (статья 143 Гражданского кодекса Республики Казахстан) Мырзалы Г.А., заместителем начальника по лечебно-профилактической работе учреждения УК-161/2 и учреждением ЕС-164/4.

В обоих случаях от Семеновой требовали опровергнуть сведения, приведённые в статьях, принести извинения и опубликовать опровержения. 10.06.2020 года прошло первое судебное заседание в Павлодарском городском суде (судья Хисматуллина С.Г.) по иску Мырзалы Г.А. В ходе заседания была представлена лингвистическая экспертиза текста статьи эксперта со стороны истца Мустакимовой Г.В., согласно которому в тексте выявлено наличие слов и выражений, которые можно признать порочащим честь, достоинство и деловую репутацию медицинского работника – зам.начальника учреждения УК-162/2.

В свою очередь адвокатом Семёновой было представлено заключение специалиста Общественного центра экспертиз по информационным и документационным спорам при Общественном фонде защиты свободы слова «Әділ сөз» Карымсаковой Р.Д., согласно которому «по номинациям лица, имеющимся в представленном на исследование информационном материале (фрагмент скриншота), нельзя установить, что речь идет о каком-либо конкретном участнике процесса, а именно – о Мырзалы Гулмизре Абдихалыккызы».

Следующее судебное заседание состоится 17.06.2020 г. с участием эксперта Карымсаковой Р.Д.

11.06.2020 г. прошло первое судебное заседание в Павлодарском городском суде (судья Юсупова Г.Х.) по иску учреждения ЕС-164/4.

В ходе заседания был допрошен осужденный Санин М.В., который не отрицал факт противоправных действий сотрудников ЕС-164/4 в отношении него и подробно рассказал, что было 10 апреля 2020 года.

В свою очередь адвокат Семёновой представил суду заключение специалиста Общественного центра экспертиз по информационным и документационным спорам при Общественном фонде защиты свободы слова «Әділ сөз» по тексту статьи Семёновой.

Следующее судебное заседание состоится 18.06.2020 г.

Юридическую помощь Семеновой при поддержке Казахстанского международного бюро по правам человека и соблюдению законности оказывает адвокат коллегии адвокатов Павлодарской области Мусинов М.У.

Казахстанское международное бюро по правам человека
и соблюдению законности
11 июня 2020 г.