sample

Medet Arystanov

civil society activist


On 25 February, opposition activist Dulat Agadil died in a pre-trial detention center in Nur-Sultan. Before that, he had been forcefully taken from his home by plain-clothed people; Mr. Agadil was being tried in a case of contempt of a court of law and, as alleged by the Ministry of Internal Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan (MIA RoK), had been evading investigation. A few days later, without waiting for the criminal investigation into Mr. Agadil’s sudden death to complete, the MIA RoK, the prosecutor’s office, and the President of Kazakhstan all announced that the cause of death was a “cardiovascular failure.”

Brief information



Place of residence: Nur-Sultan (Astana)

Article: Article 434 of the Criminal Code of the Republic of Kazakhstan

Date of birth: -

Detailed information



General provision

On 25 February, opposition activist Dulat Agadil died in a pre-trial detention center in Nur-Sultan. Before that, he had been forcefully taken from his home by plain-clothed people; Mr. Agadil was being tried in a case of contempt of a court of law and, as alleged by the Ministry of Internal Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan (MIA RoK), had been evading investigation. A few days later, without waiting for the criminal investigation into Mr. Agadil’s sudden death to complete, the MIA RoK, the prosecutor’s office, and the President of Kazakhstan all announced that the cause of death was a “cardiovascular failure.”

Prior to the funeral, Mr. Agadil's friends made a video that showed scratches and bruises on his body. The General Prosecutor's Office opened a criminal case under Article 274 of the Criminal Code of the Republic of Kazakhstan (CC RoK) (dissemination of false information) against M. Arystanov, K. Seitkaliev and D. Umirbaev, for distributing in the social networks a video showing the alleged bodily injuries on Mr. Agadil’s body.

On 27 February, Medet Arystanov was placed under a 10-day arrest and, according to the media reports, he was subjected to a criminal investigation for making the video of Mr. Dulat Agadil’s body, albeit with the consent of the relatives of the deceased.

On 14 March, the General Prosecutor’s Office in Nur-Sultan called in the witnesses in this criminal case. Mr. Arystanov was questioned as a “witness with a right to defense.”

On 17 March, Mr. Arystanov was called in to the General Prosecutor’s Office as a witness to take part in the investigative actions in a criminal case under article 405 of the Criminal Code of the Republic of Kazakhstan (Participation in a public or religious association or other organization in respect of which there is a legally effective court judgment prohibiting the activity of such association or organization or liquidating it on the grounds of being engaged in extremism or terrorism, allegedly in connection with the persecution of Democratic Choice of Kazakhstan, a movement that has been recognized by court as extremist.

Medet Arystanov never contacted the Nur-Sultan branch office of KIBHR for legal assistance. However, requests have been made to KIBHR head office in Almaty to assist with engagement of an advocate.

Mr. Arystanov’s most recent interrogation was conducted in May 2020. As of 19 June 2020, Medet Arystanov’s status in this case is one of a witness with a right to defense.

Ms. Duysenova, Gulshat Amantayevna is acting as Mr. Arystanov advocate and defending his rights and law-protected interests.

Kazakhstan International Bureau for Human Rights and the Rule of Law
15 June 2020

sample

Арыстанов Медет Ахметович

Гражданский активист


Перед похоронами друзья Агадила сделали видеозапись, на которой видны ссадины и гематомы на теле погибшего. Генеральная прокуратура открыла уголовное дело по статье 274 «Распространение заведомо ложной информации» Уголовного кодекса Республики Казахстан (УК РК) в отношении активистов Арыстанова М., Сейткалиева К. и Умирбаева Д. за распространение в социальных сетях записи видео со следами предположительно телесных повреждений на теле Агадила

Краткая информация



Место проживания: Нур-Султан

Статья обвинения: ст.274 УК РК

Подробная информация



Общее положение

Арыстанов Медет Ахметович, 35 лет, казах, гражданский активист, проживает в г.Нур-Султан, ранее привлекался к административной ответственности по статьям 434 «Мелкое хулиганство» и 488 «Нарушение законодательства Республики Казахстан о порядке организации и проведения мирных собраний» Кодекса Республики Казахстан об административных правонарушениях.

25 февраля 2020 г. в следственном изоляторе Астаны скончался оппозиционный активист Дулат Агадил. Накануне его с применением физической силы увезли из дома люди в штатском. Агадил проходил по делу о неуважении к суду и, по версии Министерства внутренних дел Республики Казахстан (МВД РК), уклонялся от следственных действий. Через несколько дней, не дожидаясь окончания расследования по уголовному делу по факту внезапной гибели Агадила, МВД РК, прокуратура и Президент Казахстана заявили, что причина смерти — «сердечно-сосудистая недостаточность».

Перед похоронами друзья Агадила сделали видеозапись, на которой видны ссадины и гематомы на теле погибшего. Генеральная прокуратура открыла уголовное дело по статье 274 «Распространение заведомо ложной информации» Уголовного кодекса Республики Казахстан (УК РК) в отношении активистов Арыстанова М., Сейткалиева К. и Умирбаева Д. за распространение в социальных сетях записи видео со следами предположительно телесных повреждений на теле Агадила.

27 февраля Арыстанов Медет был арестован на 10 дней, и, по сообщениям в СМИ, он подвергся уголовному преследованию за то, что снял, хотя и с разрешения родственников, видео тела Дулата Агадила.

14 марта в г. Нур-Султан в Генеральную прокуратуру в качестве свидетелей по этому уголовному делу были вызваны нескольких активистов. Арыстанова допрашивали по данному делу в качестве «свидетеля, имеющего право на защиту».

17 марта Арыстанова вызывали в Генеральную прокуратуру в качестве свидетеля для участия в следственных действиях по уголовному делу по статье 405 УК РК «Организация и участие в деятельности общественного или религиозного объединения либо иной организации после решения суда о запрете их деятельности или ликвидации в связи с осуществлением ими экстремизма или терроризма» в связи предположительно с преследованиями признанного судом экстремистским движения «Демократическим выбором Казахстана».

Арыстанов Медет в филиал Казахстанского международного бюро по правам человека и соблюдению законности в г. Нур-Султан за правовой помощью не обращался. Однако, обращались напрямую в головной офис КМБПЧиСЗ в городе Алматы с просьбой оказать содействие в предоставлении адвоката.

Последний допрос был произведен в мае 2020 года. На 19 июня 2020 года статус Арыстанова Медета по данному делу - свидетель с правом на защиту. Защиту прав и законных интересов Арыстанова Медета осуществляет адвокат Дуйсенова Гульшат Амантаевна.

Казахстанское международное бюро по правам человека и соблюдению законности
15 июня 2020 года