sample

Asset Abishev

Civil activist, human rights activist, blogger


Mr. Abishev promoted the ideas of democracy and human rights on Facebook. He made video footage calling for political change. Acted as moderator of opposition groups on social networks. He held himself as a principled supporter of peaceful human rights actions.

Short information



Place of residence: Almaty

Article of conviction: Part 2 of Article 405 of the Criminal Code, Part 1 of Article 266 of the Criminal Code

Date of Birth: 17.06.1977

Conviction date: 07/06/2018

Education: secondary

Detailed information



General position

Mr. Abishev promoted the ideas of democracy and human rights on Facebook. He made video footage calling for political change. Acted as moderator of opposition groups on social networks. He held himself as a principled supporter of peaceful human rights actions.

Mr. Abishev has supported the opposition movement “The Democratic Choice of Kazakhstan” (DCK). The movement was proclaimed as extremist and banned on 13 March 2018 by a ruling of the Esil district court in Astana, but independent observers and human rights activists consider such a decision politically motivated because the movement did not call for or commit violence.

Mr. Abishev has also been active in drawing the public attention to such issues as:

- formation and expression of the will of citizens and social groups;
- support for people with autism;
- legal assistance on the matters of legality of peaceful assembly;
- raising the level of education at schools and higher educational institutions;
- improvement of well being of vulnerable groups.

Mr. Abishev was arrested on 7 July 2018 and charged of taking part in a public association in respect of which there has been issued and entered into legal force a court ruling banning such association on the grounds of it being extremist (article 405 part 2 of the Criminal Code of the Republic of Kazakhstan), and of financing of a criminal organization (article 266 part 1 of the Criminal Code). It was all about the banned movement “Democratic Choice of Kazakhstan.”

As the ground for criminal prosecution of Mr. Abishev, and evidence of him committing “crimes,” the investigators said he acted with an intent, i.e. in order to provide information services to the criminal group and extremist organization “Democratic Choice of Kazakhstan” he used his Facebook account “Asset Abishev” to publish audio, video, and photo materials showcasing the activity of the banned organization “Democratic Choice of Kazakhstan.” The prosecution concluded that, acting in such a way, Mr. Abishev participated in the activity of DCK, an organization in respect of which there has been issued and entered into legal force a court decision banning it based on its extremist nature.

According to independent observers, the trial in Mr. Abishev’s case was conducted with an accusatory bias, and on 30 November 2018 he was found guilty of committing crimes under article 266 part 1 and article 405 part 2 of the Criminal Code of the Republic of Kazakhstan, and sentenced to four years in prison. A court of appeal (the Almaty city court) upheld the first-instance verdict, holding a session without Mr. Abishev in attendance as he was placed in a detention facility.

While in prison, Mr. Abishev continued to be actively involved in human rights, and provided legal help to his fellow prisoners. On 23-25 April 2019 planned searches were conducted at LA 155/14 facility in Almaty oblast where Mr. Abishev is serving his sentence, over the course of which, he claims, he was subjected to harsh treatment on the part of the officers. Based on his written complaint a criminal case was initiated under article 146 of the Criminal Code (Torture), which was suspended, resumed, and then suspended again. To date, no results of the investigation have been released.

On 27 December 2019, the Kapshagay city court denied Mr. Abishev’ plea to grant his request for replacement of his sentence for a more lenient one. The section ‘Statement of Reasons’ of the resolution said that the denial was based on the fact that Mr. Abishev’s behaviour had not been defined clearly and it was not certain whether or not he had taken the path to correction. On 12 February 2020, an appeal court for the Almaty oblast turned down a special complaint filed by Ms. G. Zhuaspayeva, Mr. Abishev’s advocate, appealing the above resolution.

On 7 April 2020 Mr. Abishev was incarcerated for 15 days for allegedly trying to leave the local unit, resisting a body search, and having a mobile phone on him at the time of the search. On 22 April 2020, Mr. Abishev was again placed in a disciplinary detention centre for 10 days for failing to observe the neat-appearance and personal hygiene order (he was unshaven). While in the disciplinary cell, the centre’s administration blocked Mr. Abishev from accessing an attorney.

On 2 June 2020, the Kapshagay city court began hearing of Mr. Abishev’s motion for parole.

sample

Абишев Асет

Гражданский активист, правозащитник, блогер


Абишев был арестован 07 июля 2018 г. и обвинен в участии в деятельности общественного объединения, в отношении которого имеется вступившее в законную силу решение суда о запрете деятельности в связи с осуществлением экстремизма (часть 2 статьи 405 Уголовного кодекса Республики Казахстан) и финансировании преступной организации (часть 1 статьи 266 УК РК). Речь шла о запрещенном движении «Демократический выбор Казахстана».

Краткая информация



Место проживания: Алматы

Статья осуждения: часть 2 статьи 405 УК, часть 1 статьи 266 УК

Дата рождения: 17.06.1977

Дата осуждения: 07/06/2018

Образование: Среднее

Подробная информация



Общее положение

Абишев продвигал идеи демократии и прав человека в социальной сети «Facebook». Делал видеообращения о необходимости политических перемен. Был в социальных сетях модератором оппозиционных групп. Позиционировал себя как принципиальный сторонник мирной правозащитной деятельности.

Абишев поддерживал оппозиционное движение «Демократический выбор Казахстана» (ДВК). Движение было запрещено 13 марта 2018 г., как экстремистское по решению Есильского районного суда г.Астаны, хотя независимые наблюдатели и правозащитники считают это решение политически мотивированным, поскольку движение не призывало к насилию и не осуществляло насилие.

Также Абишев активно привлекал внимание общества по таким вопросам, как:

- формирование и выражение воли граждан и социальных групп;
- поддержка людей, страдающих «аутизмом»;
- юридическая помощь по вопросам законности проведения мирных собраний;
- развитие уровня образования в школах, высших учебных заведениях;
- повышение материального благосостояния уязвимых групп населения.

Абишев был арестован 07 июля 2018 г. и обвинен в участии в деятельности общественного объединения, в отношении которого имеется вступившее в законную силу решение суда о запрете деятельности в связи с осуществлением экстремизма (часть 2 статьи 405 Уголовного кодекса Республики Казахстан) и финансировании преступной организации (часть 1 статьи 266 УК РК). Речь шла о запрещенном движении «Демократический выбор Казахстана».

В качестве основания для уголовного преследования Абишева и доказательства совершения им «преступления» обвинением было указано, что он умышленно, с целью оказания информационных услуг преступной группе и экстремистской организации «Демократический выбор Казахстана» на своей странице социальной сети «Facebook» через аккаунт «Asset Abishev» разместил аудио-видео-фото материалы о деятельности запрещённой организации «Демократический выбор Казахстана». Обвинение сделало вывод, что данными действиями Абишев принял участие в деятельности ДВК, в отношении которого имеется вступившее в законную силу решение суда о запрете его деятельности в связи с осуществлением им экстремизма.

Судебные процессы по делу Абишева, по мнению независимых наблюдателей, проходили с обвинительным уклоном, и 30 ноября 2018 г. он был признан виновным в совершении преступлений, предусмотренных ст.ст. 266 ч.1, 405 ч.2 УК Республики Казахстан и приговорён к четырём годам лишения свободы. Суд апелляционной инстанции - Алматинский городской суд утвердил приговор, причём заседание прошло без личного участия Абишева, который содержался в следственном изоляторе.

В ходе отбывания наказания Абишев продолжал активную правозащитную деятельность, оказывая правовую помощь осужденным. 23-25 апреля 2019 г. в учреждении ЛА 155/14 Алматинской области, где находится Абишев, были проведены плановые обыскных мероприятия, в ходе которых он, по его утверждениям, подвергся жестокому обращению со стороны должностных лиц. По его заявлению было возбуждено уголовное дело по статье 146 УК РК «Пытки», которое неоднократно приостанавливалось, прекращалось и вновь возобновлялось. До настоящего времени никаких результатов расследования нет.

27 декабря 2019 г. Капшагайским городским судом Абишеву было отказано в удовлетворении его ходатайстве на замену наказания более мягким видом наказания. Мотивировочная часть постановления основывается на том, что степень поведения Абишева не определена и неясно, встал ли он на путь исправления. 12 февраля 2020 г. апелляционный суд Алматинской области отказал в удовлетворении частной жалобы адвоката Абишева Г.Жуаспаевой по вопросу обжалования вышеуказанного постановления.

07 апреля 2020 г. Абишев был водворен в дисциплинарный изолятор на 15 суток за то, что якобы пытался покинуть локальный участок, препятствовал личному досмотру, а при личном обыске у него был изъят мобильный телефон. 22 апреля 2020 г. Абишев был снова водворен в дисциплинарный изолятор за несоблюдение опрятного вида и личной гигиены (был небрит) на 10 суток. Во время нахождения в дисциплинарном изоляторе администрация учреждения препятствовала Абишеву в доступе к адвокату.

02 июня 2020 г. в Капшагайском городском суде началось рассмотрения ходатайства Абишева на условно-досрочное освобождение.